Web hosting and large flat file database

This is my first post here, so I hope this is OK. I have been using Rapidweaver for a couple of years and recently started playing with Blocs, both of which can use Pulse CMS.

To date I have only created static html websites for myself, however I am in the process of starting a business as a web designer and it’s clear that many clients want the ability to make their own updates, so I wanted to learn something about Pulse and what it can offer, particularly in relation to WordPress, since that is a frequent request.

In working on the business plan, I’ve thought about offering web hosting as part of the design packages, which could be done with a reseller account using my current web host Kualo. While looking through the conditions I noticed a line about non permitted activities that caught my eye. Namely “Any script using a large flat file database.”

Obviously I can ask Kualo about this, but having read that Pulse used a flash file system I wondered why this would be a problem for web hosting? Also it’s not clear how they define large.

1 Like

Thanks @Bilko and I remember you from the RapidWeaver forums :wink:

Looking at the Kualo specs and offers I think, in a nutshell, it will be fine and not to worry!

Performance of Pulse is akin to static html websites and doesn’t use a database, instead it reads from text files. I think they are referring to either a CSV or MYSQL Lite database so Pulse is not included in that.

If that database was large (say a few 100 mb or more) it could hinder their server RAM etc. But text files is not a problem and certainly less of a burden than WordPress sites and My SQL (which they offer) so I would say good luck in the new business venture and go for it!

Post back how it goes :sunglasses: